Mark O'Loughlin
ITSM / ITIL Consultant

Timo
ITIL Expert
ITIL Expert

Post by Timo » Wed Jan 02, 2008 12:02 pm

Anushree

Post by Anushree » Wed Jun 11, 2014 9:00 am

I am fairly new to itil. in an interview i was asked what retrospective change is.. i didnt know.. well i read the above comments.. so i now understand that it means... first fix the issue then document it. but what i want to know is.. even in an emergency, an ECAB is convened.. so does that not happen in retrospective change? or can somebody please explain me the process of retrospective change...

Thanks is advance!!

UKVIKING
ITIL Expert
ITIL Expert

Post by UKVIKING » Wed Jun 11, 2014 2:31 pm

A Retrospective change - an example.

The company has a network which is managed by Cisco routers

The company finds out that the network is suffering several intermittent outages.

The fix is to upload a fix.
The problem is that the standard process is to test this fix in a test environment and then watch

The fix is NOT Guarenteed to solve the issue... but....

So the IT Mgmt gives the go ahead. It gets done
It fixes the problem

So the IT Mgmt has the network team raise the Change request... and get it scheduled for the next meeting

The reason it is a retro spective is that the time that is needed to approve an emergency change may be too long before the company's entire network shuts down
John Hardesty
ITSM Manager's Certificate (Red Badge)

Change Management is POWER & CONTROL. /....evil laughter

ChangingMan
Itiler
Itiler

Post by ChangingMan » Thu Jun 19, 2014 4:15 am

Emergency changes, in my opinion, should be like Standard Changes with approval given in advance.

In fact emergency changes shouldn't even require any detailed information on the change record prior to being implemented. This can be added afterwards.

An Emergency Change should only be used to restore service or prevent an immediate outage to service.

Sri368

Retrospective change

Post by Sri368 » Wed Mar 15, 2017 4:12 am

Incident