Looking for some guidance

General discussion on all aspects of the IT Infrastructure Library (ITIL)
Post Reply
michaleben123
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:19 am

Wed Apr 03, 2019 5:24 am

Hello,

I am looking for some guidance. Has anyone captured CI information against say, if it's an issue with SharePoint or intranet or Skype for Business or any other, how can the same be captured in the CMDB?

Let's say for SharePoint / Intranet, what attributes could be captured in the CMDB?

Please advise.

Thanks and regards,


User avatar
Corde Wagner
Itiler
Itiler
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 7:00 pm
Location: El Dorado Hills, California
Contact:

Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:44 pm

Hello,

Most ITSM tools come with a predefined set of CIs based on common infrastructure (e.g. HP, NetApp, etc.) or applications (e.g. Oracle, Solarwinds, etc.). These generally are used for discovery and also to enable populating your CMDB. If your ITSM tool doens't have a predefined CI for what you want to track, you can define one in your CMDB.

Populating attributes in each CI can come with the definition or can be added manually by your configuration manager.

Once defined, you can then make reference to these CIs through your operational processes/practices.

I hope this helps.
Corde Wagner
ITIL v3 Expert - ITILv4 - CASM - VeriSM-Plus
Post Reply